By Stevarious - 10/07/2015 15:49 - United States - Sacramento
Add a comment - Reply to : #
YDI, a cat is a fuzzy friend, a new place to live isn't worth giving that up.
It's not because the cat can't move but because in most cases the cat will go back to its old house. We dropped our cat at our grandparents house so they would have somewhere to be while we weren't home. First year was fine, but the next one of them didn't want to be there and she spent two months finding her way back home. It's a 30 minutes walk from our house. Cats don't move as easily as dogs, amd I do not recommend getting a cat unless you're planning on living in that house/apartment for the rest of that cats life.
That's not a good idea. People who actually need that license can end up getting denied because everyone else abuses it. The people giving out the license might just think that someone who actually needs it might just be looking for a way to take their pet everywhere.
you wouldn't give up your children if your new place didn't accept children, you would find a new place and make sacrifices even if it inconveniences you. so why don't you do that for your pets? my pet's are like family and I already made it clear that I'd rather live in a tent with my cats in the woods than to give them up. no pets policy is just an excuse. our pet's whole lives revolve around us. they need you and it's a dick move to just leave your animal behind. it will wonder where you have gone and wonders why you abandoned them. there will always be places that accepts pets. you just gotta look.
Unfortunately, there's really nothing you can do since it sounds like he gave you the legal time-period of notice (I don't know California's state laws but I assume 30 days is the minimum time). However, what an absolute dick move on his part! Edit: Thanks to a comment above, I realized that it could be illegal for him to do this if your contract explicitly states that you have the right to live in that apartment for more than the 30 days he's given you. Check the contract!
60 days if you're under a lease with a set term (as opposed to a month-to-month tenancy) OR you've been there > 1 year. Otherwise it's 30. So, if the OP signed a rental agreement that included no particular lease term or end date, this COULD be legal. Some cities and counties require longer periods, or a particular legal "just cause" for eviction, but that protection isn't statewide. The California Department of Consumer Affairs has quite a bit of information on this.
He probably should have been obligated to tell you that before you signed a contract... Or maybe it was in the contract. Hope you read it.