Today, I was eating Jell-O and was reading a fact website, when I read that gelatin is made from the collagen in cow or pig bones. I'm vegetarian. FML
Collection
Fall
Dead leaves, the first cold of the season and an umbrella flipped inside out: fall, the season of grace.
Same thing different taste
Today, I found a bone in my sandwich. It was a veggie burger. FML
Today, I was eating Campbell's vegetable soup. Halfway through, I started to read the ingredients and found beef broth. I have been a vegetarian for seven years. FML
Today, I found out that the so-called vegetarian soy sauce my mom has made for me several times has minced meat in it. FML
Today, I told my girlfriend that I'm a vegan. She replied, "So, you're allergic to meat?" FML
Today, after having been a vegetarian for 8 years because I'm opposed to cruelty to animals, I lost a bet and had to eat a whole cheeseburger. I loved it. FML
Today, I got a letter back from the family I will be staying with as a part of an exchange program. Apparently they own a slaughterhouse type farm, and I'm expected to kill one of their animals and eat it as a gift from the family. I'm a vegan. FML
Today, I had a food allergy test done because of an ugly acne upswing, and after over a year of vegetarianism, I find out that I'm allergic to soy. FML
Today, I saw my mom sneaking meat into her spaghetti sauce. She told me she sneaks meat into most of the food she cooks. I've been a vegetarian for 8 years. FML
Today, I had a friend tell me all about how being a vegan was so great. They were eating eggs. FML
Today, my sister put a piece of leather in my homemade beef jerkey to prove a point. I ate it. FML
Top comments
Not_Ever_Telling 3
I'm guessing you haven't been a vegetarian too long. Any respectable vegetarian knows gelatin is made from animals. YDI
kellanlvr 1
I learned that in 2nd grade -___-
Add a comment · Reply to
You must be logged in to be able to post comments!
Comments (695)
jjames7543 13
you're a vegetarian and you just found this out... where were you in elementary school?
trclocke 1
collagen + heat = gelatin. tha'ts common knowledge. it's what makes leftover stew get that amazing texture, for example. There are vegetarian alternatives you can eat, though, if you're not retarded and do your research.
bigbadtim 7
Lipstick had fish scales in it. So much for that now.
5t3ff1k4h 47
Seriously? Okay. Now you have to prove this.
bigbadtim 7
According to Wikipedia yes, also pig fat.
DLTsandwich 5
If it's from Wikipedia, it must be legit! :P
mackentoshe 0
NO! In Soviet Russia, jello eat YOU.
perdix 31
I don't know why people who are calling those who didn't know gelatin was made from animals idiots. I didn't learn it until I was in my 30's and I generally pwn everyone's ass in trivia games. I don't see why vegetarians think they get extra points for going so many months/years as purists and think they are failures for accidentally consuming products derived from animals. Stop eating Jell-o and your life will cease to be ******. (Unless your boyfriend is sneakily using lambskin condoms ;) )
SCBeauty1983 0
I didn't know it either, til I read this post! =)
PacoIsATaco 0
Jello= No bueno.
evilcartman 0
ydi for being a vegetarian... stick to candy and junk food
MeGustaComer 0
Since you now know that you eat animal remains, how about eat some real food now?
SCBeauty1983 0
Win! =)
SCBeauty1983 0
Being a 'vegitarian' and being a 'vegan' are two different things; I'm neither so it doesn't bother me! LOL
nomudkips 4
Isn't it usually made from corn starch now?
reallyguys 6
no, then it would just be called corn starch.